Swallowtails

Work in progress: Black Swallowtail and Giant Swallowtail – underwings shown.  I’d only known of the tiger swallowtail which is common here in New England.  Then I grew celery and attracted the black swallowtail – they come for parsley, dill, carrot, etc.   Then I planted a ‘gas’ plant (Dictamnus Albus) which is citrus enough to attract the Giant Swallowtail – they come for orange, lemon, etc.  I love all butterflies and moths and keep track of what I see in my field guides.

Save

Leave a Reply

