Life and Art

1462470903918

Being creative is not so much a choice as a compulsion – I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t create.  I’ve designed and sewed my own clothing, decorated my home (sewing curtains, pillow slips, etc.), I’ve landscaped and have many future plans for the gardens around my home, and I paint from all the inspirations around me.  I believe beauty should be cultivated, increased, shared, and enjoyed – and that is what I hope to accomplished with all these creative endeavors!

1460648069747

So, how to balance that with being a wife, mother, homemaker, daughter, friend, sister….the priorities and purposes of life?   Here are some of the goals and practices I hope to habituate in my life:

I get up between 7:00 and 8:00, make coffee or tea, start the boys on their schoolwork, then check e-mails, start laundry, do dishes, etc… Mornings are normally spent doing school/housework, in the afternoons I run errands and go to appointments, 5:30 is sit-down dinner with the family, then, in the evenings, after everyone else goes to bed, I have time for creative work.  (Of course, any down-time I can snatch during the day will be used for creativity too!)

I find that I am creative in waves, not necessarily linked to a specific time in a day. I’ll spend days being really excited and engaged in creative work and then days where the idea of creating anything just feels like a chore.  I give myself space when I feel like I’m in a rut. I will usually go out to work in my gardens, walk in the woods, gather things from nature to take home…

1460391754391

Cultivating a clean, cozy, welcoming, atmosphere at home helps me to relax and enjoy my creative time.  If it’s dirty and cluttered around me that takes my attention away from anything else I’m trying to do.  Having a light/bright, open, calm space is so important to me!  I love the light and warmth of sunshine streaming in my windows and I like the peaceful tones of whites and naturals…creating that space to work in then allows me to be creative in that space ; )

1466518929316

Being a stay-at-home-mom, I’m always on the job – life is my work – but I’m the one who gets to decide how much I work and how much I play.  I need to keep productive and yet allow myself to just enjoy the good things in life – I’m certainly never going to run out of things to do!  Almost every day I make a list of what needs to be done. Once the list is done I stop working. That means that there is incentive to get things done and it also means that when I am not working I am not constantly thinking about all the tasks waiting for me to do.

How about you?  How do you manage home/work/hobbies, and motivate/inspire yourself?

 

Save

2 thoughts on “Life and Art

  1. I love this post! I also work by a list. Then after,have time to relax. I also need a clean,and less cluttered space to thrive,and lots of light. I love to write,but it’s true,it comes in waves. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

