Butterfly and Flower #8

dsc_3245

This is the Painted Lady (or Cosmopolitan)  butterfly, with one of it’s host plants, Centurea – one part of the Asteraceae species.   They are widespread because they migrate through the seasons and breed year around.  It’s one of the Vanessa family which include the Red Admiral and the American Lady.  I’m planning to paint the Red Admiral next!

dsc_3246

Side note: I’ve had my Lukas 1862 watercolor set for over 9 months now and I LOVE it!  I think it’s been the best money I spent all year ; )

dsc_3244

Leave a Reply

