Painted Trilliums

dsc_3528

dsc_3529

Trilliums were the first flower I fell in love with.  I found one in a gully – a single red one – and transplanted it to my own woodland garden with starflower, ferns, bellflower, wintergreen, blue-bead lily, etc.  It was the pride of my garden and the second year grew three flowers!  Then, one year I came to my garden to find it gone – disappeared!  Then I saw that the slugs had eaten it – nothing was left.  It’s been so many years since, but I still have a passionate hate for slugs.  I recently planted nodding trilliums and hope to add painted and wake-robins some day.

One thought on “Painted Trilliums

Leave a Reply

