Planning the Garden

garden%2520flippies%2520-02

This is a picture of my flippies from the summer internship I had years ago – maintaining the perennial gardens for an estate.  I loved that job and saved the flippies as a reminder of the flowers, sunshine, and an amused employer who didn’t believe I would wear these every day – weeding, transplanting, edging, pruning, dividing…no matter the weather!

Well, now that I have my own gardens to tend, I don’t just work in my gardens in the summer – planting, tending, harvest, etc. – there’s all the planning to be done during the cold days of winter!    Taking stock of seeds that were saved, ordering new seeds, planting things early indoors, researching new plants that should be planted (when, where, how), and dreaming of what the garden will be!

dsc_3998

My dear husband is building me a porch, so I’ve been busy dreaming of all the things I want to do with it and plant around it!  I’m planning to hang my hummingbird feeder there, but I’d also like to have a potted fuchsia for them.  I’m hoping to plant a Coral Honeysuckle to climb up the corner of the porch too!

dsc_4018

Then there are the vegetable beds to plan and perennials I want to add to the boarders around the house…and I’m going to try growing more in containers too…and there’s my old bathtub water garden.  So many things I want to do, so I must plan carefully, before spring gets here and the planting rush is on!

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

